Thanks to the advent of social media platforms, like Instagram, staying connected has never been easier; however, as easy as it is to stay connected, it’s just as easy shut someone out. Whether it’s an ex, your one-time BFF you had a falling out with, or a family member that you just don’t see eye-to-eye with; you may have used the “block” button yourself to prevent someone from seeing you on Insta. If you have, there’s no doubt you had good reason to do so; however, have you ever wondered if anyone has done the same to you? Below, we’ll uncover some tips that you can use to find out if you’ve been blocked by someone on Instagram.
How Do You Know If You’ve Been Blocked on Instagram?
Unfortunately (or maybe fortunately?), Instagram doesn’t notify you when someone you follow has blocked your account. As such, the only way you’ll need to do some sleuth work if you want to find out if you’ve been blocked. That said, however, there are some signs that you can be on the lookout for that will indicate that you have been barred from someone’s account. These clues include the following:
- A follower’s account activity has disappeared. Their stories or shared haven’t appeared on your feed in quite some time, and you haven’t received direct messages in a while.
- When you search someone’s account handle on your account, but you can find the users when you search for them on someone else’s account.
How Tell If Someone Blocked You on Instagram
If you suspect that someone has blocked you on Instagram but you aren’t 100% certain, the following are some simple tips that you can use to confirm your suspicion that don’t involve outright asking them directly.
1. Search for Their Account.
The first and easiest way to find out if someone has blocked you on Instagram is simply searching for their profile. Head to the search bar and put in their handle. If the account doesn’t show up, the user either blocked you or they deleted their account.
2. Check Your Direct Messages
If you’ve DM’s the person in question, check out your direct messages. If the chat thread is visible, all is well; however, if they thread isn’t there, you’ve been blocked.
3. Visit the Profile via a Browser
Enter www.instagram.com/(username) (replace “username” with the person’s name) into your web browser. If you receive a message that reads, “Sorry, this page isn’t available”, you’ve been blocked.
4. Check Another Account
If you know someone who follows the person in question, ask them to search for the individual you suspect blocked you from their account. If everything looks good from another account, you’ve been blocked.
While Instagram doesn’t notify you when someone blocks you, with the above-mentioned tips, you can determine if you have been blocked from viewing someone’s account. If your detective work has confirmed your suspicions and you have been blocked, take a deep breath. Consider the reasons why you may have been blocked. Did you have an argument? Say or do something hurtful? Being blocked could be seen as a good thing. It could be used as an opportunity to mend your relationship, or it may just be a sign that it’s time to move on.