How to Delete an Instagram Post

It doesn’t matter how good your planning is; sometimes you hit ‘Share’ on a post, only to find that you’ve…

Jump to section 👇

In this article

It doesn’t matter how good your planning is; sometimes you hit ‘Share’ on a post, only to find that you’ve missed an image from your carousel, added the wrong emojis, or simply posted at the wrong time.

Luckily, Instagram is extremely user friendly for those of us who slip up and share a post before it’s ready to go – requiring just a few short clicks to wipe a post off your profile altogether.

Delete an Instagram Post in 4 Clicks

  1. Starting on your profile page, click on the post that you want to delete
  2. Select the three dots which sit just above the image on the right hand side (you will see your username in the same location on the left hand side)
  3. Click ‘Delete’ – the button in red at the bottom of the list of options
  4. Confirm that you wish to delete the post via the pop up confirmation box

Once a post has been deleted, it cannot be saved – so make sure that you have selected the right post before deleting.

Top Tip for Those Longer Posts…

This is a quick tip for those of you who have created longer posts that took hours to construct and word, only to find that you selected the wrong images. Before going through the above process to delete your post, it is worth copying the caption that you have already written so that you don’t have to rewrite the whole thing again.

To do this, follow steps 1 and 2 as above, but select ‘Edit’ from the menu.

Select all of the text you’ve written and copy it – pasting it into a note on your device or straight into a new post that you are planning to share on Instagram.

We hope this helps to save both time and stress, allowing you to recreate and repost your update with the right images, without having to start the caption again from scratch!