How to Go Live in Close Friends on Instagram

The Close Friends list is a relatively new feature on Instagram that invites users to share content with a specific…

The Close Friends list is a relatively new feature on Instagram that invites users to share content with a specific group of users.

The Close Friends feature is not the same as a group chat or community. Rather, it gives the creator a specific list of users with whom they can share content directly, be it an Instagram story or a new live stream.

There are several benefits of this from a user perspective. When you share content with a Close Friends list, you have more control over who sees the content – making it a particularly good feature for those updates that you want to keep within your family or friendship group.

With that said, in this article we’re sharing how to start a live stream with your Close Friends list exclusively.

How to Build a Close Friends List For a Live Stream

Unlike so many of Instagram’s features, a Close Friends live stream is not something you can just suddenly do without a few pre-emptive and preparatory actions.

In order to share a live stream with your Close Friends list, you first need to create the Close Friends list.

  1. Head to your profile on Instagram and open the menu, by clicking on the three horizontal lines in the top right hand corner of the screen
  2. Scroll down to Close Friends
  3. Build your Close Friends list by selecting the accounts that you want to add and then clicking ‘Done’

Once you’ve got your Close Friends list finalised, you’re ready to go live.

Starting a Live Stream with Close Friends

A Close Friends live stream is similar to a standard live stream, just with a limited audience.

To start a live stream with your Close Friends select group of users, open the ‘Live’ screen, and then select ‘Close Friends’.

A ‘Close Friends’ label at the bottom of the screen will let you know that you’ve selected the right audience. You can now add a title to your broadcast, before clicking the ‘Go Live’ button at the bottom of the screen.

Any users who are part of your Close Friends list will receive a notification that you have started a live stream and will be able to watch along and engage with your content as you share.

If this is something that you are doing as a personal share, then you can let friends know directly about your live stream. If this is a part of your business marketing, and your Close Friends live stream is a way of sharing exclusive content with your most loyal followers or a specific group of customers, we recommend letting them know about the live stream in advance and scheduling it for a set time.

What Happens After a Close Friends Live Stream?

When your live stream is finished and you’ve clicked ‘End’, you can check out the insights from your stream and see some of the comments that you might have missed during the stream.

For business accounts in particular, it’s important to thank those who followed along and engaged with your live content – creating a precedent for future shares.

We hope that this guide helps you to leverage one of Instagram’s most engaging features!