How to Hide Tagged Photos on Instagram

Tagging friends in your Instagram posts and photos is just one of the ways in which users can connect and…

Tagging friends in your Instagram posts and photos is just one of the ways in which users can connect and share memories with others.

When you are tagged in a photo by another user, the entire post becomes visible as part of your profile – in a specific grid section dedicated to tagged images and posts.

But what happens if you’re tagged in a photo that you don’t want your other followers to be able to see?

Here’s our quick guide on how to hide tagged photos – and how to remove tags altogether.

Hide Tagged Photos in 5 Steps

  1. On your profile page, click on the far-right option just above your grid. The icon shows the outline of a figure inside a square box.
  2. Find the post that you want to hide and click on it.
  3. In the top right hand corner of the screen, click on ‘Manage’
  4. You will now find yourself on a tagged post management screen, which invites you view your tagged images by date, author, or in order of the tag appearing. Click ‘Select’ in the top right hand corner, then select all of the photos and posts that you want to hide (Note: you cannot hide specific images within a carousel post; only the entire post).
  5. When you’re happy with your selection, select ‘Hide’ on the bottom left hand side of the screen. The number in the brackets will match the number of posts you have selected.

These steps hide the tagged images from your profile, but they do not remove your tag. What this means is that while the post will no longer be visible on your profile, those who see the post on the creator’s own profile will still be able to see your tag and use it to access your profile.

How to Remove Tags Completely

If you want to remove the tag on a post, thereby removing your connection with it, you need to follow the same steps as above – until step 5, when you need to click ‘Delete’ rather than ‘Hide’.

While tagged photos can be a great way to share memories and interesting posts with your friends and connections, sometimes as a user you don’t want specific posts and images to be linked back to your own profile. Hiding a tagged photo or post is a useful tool that gives you full control over how your profile is viewed by others. We hope this helps!