How to Save An Instagram Post As a Draft

There’s nothing worse than starting an Instagram post and then realising that you have to do something else, or need…

There’s nothing worse than starting an Instagram post and then realising that you have to do something else, or need to be somewhere, and don’t have the time to finish your post properly.

In many cases, this can lead to rushing which increases the chance of a typo in your caption, or missing information that you meant to add but didn’t have time to complete.

If this sounds familiar, and you’re someone who often finds yourself rushing to complete something, then consider this a sign to start using the ‘Save Post as Draft’ feature that Instagram offers.

How to Save a Post As a Draft

To create a new post on Instagram, you need to click on the plus sign from your home screen or profile screen and select ‘Create Post’.

Create your post as normal, selecting the images and videos that you want to share and adding any filters or extra details that will enhance your post.

Click ‘Next’ to proceed on to the caption and details page, tagging any other users who you want to link to your post and writing a caption to do your post justice.

Now, lets imagine that something or someone distracts you and you need to save your post to complete later. Click on the back arrow and Instagram will display a pop up telling you that discarding your post now will lose your edits. This pop up will give you a choice, to either Discard the post completely or ‘Save Draft’.

Clicking on ‘Save Draft’ will ensure that any changes you made to the images will be ready for you to access at a later date.

How to Find Your Drafts to Post

Now, let’s say you’re ready to post an update and want to access a draft that you saved.

Click on the plus sign to add a new post – but instead of scrolling through your ‘Recents’ tab of images, click on ‘Drafts’.

This will open any drafts that you have abandoned for later, enabling you to reopen them and pick up where you left off.

This incredibly convenient feature saves time and effort and ensures that any edits you make to a post for later, are not lost!