How to Send Disappearing Photos on Instagram

There are some moments in time that you want to capture and share exclusively, while ensuring that the moment is…

There are some moments in time that you want to capture and share exclusively, while ensuring that the moment is never shared beyond one specific user, chat, or conversation.

This is where Instagram’s disappearing photos feature was born – creating an outlet for those one-off moments and photos, where they can be viewed once before disappearing.

Here’s how to find the feature and send a disappearing photo.

What is a Disappearing Photo on Instagram?

A disappearing photo is one sent via Instagram DM, which can be viewed once by the user before disappearing.

These photos are sent to group chats or individual users, making them an ideal way to share private photos or things you don’t want shared.

How to Send a Disappearing Photo in 5 Steps

  1. Open Instagram and head to your DM inbox using the paper airplane icon in the top right hand corner of the screen
  2. Find the chat or user who you want to send a disappearing photo to, and open their conversation
  3. Click on the camera icon to the left hand side of the text box, along the bottom of the chat screen
  4. Take the photo or capture the video that you want to send
  5. Before clicking send, look for the icon and label on the bottom left hand side of the screen. The default option will be set to ‘Allow Replay’. Click on this and watch it flick to ‘Keep in Chat’. Click again, until it says, ‘View Once’.

This is a disappearing photo, which can be viewed once by the recipient before deleting itself.

We hope this helps! This feature and built-in DM tool is designed to give you more flexibility over what you send and who can view it – in addition to how many times they can view it!