How to Untag Yourself on Instagram

Being tagged in a post can be a great way to look back on something you’ve done, achieved, or been…

Being tagged in a post can be a great way to look back on something you’ve done, achieved, or been a part of with friends and other Instagram contacts.

Sometimes though, you can receive unwanted tags – connecting your profile to posts and photos you’d rather not see, or spam content that you don’t want to be linked with.

Regardless of the reason, untagging and removing the connection between another user’s post and your profile is straightforward – and takes just minutes to do.

5 Steps to Untag Yourself In a Post on Instagram

  1. Head to your profile and select the icon on the far right above your grid (showing the outline of a figure inside a square box). This will change you grid view, showing all of the posts that other users have shared and tagged you in.
  2. Find the photo / post that you want to untag yourself in. Alternatively, if the post is new then you might find it just as easy to navigate to it via your Instagram notifications.
  3. Click on ‘Manage’ in the top right hand corner of the screen.
  4. Select all of the posts that you want to untag.
  5. When you’re happy with your selection, click on the red ‘Delete’ button on the bottom right of the screen. The number in the brackets will indicate how many posts you have selected.

And voila! Your tags have been removed.

This means that the post will no longer appear on your profile under your tagged photo grid, and nor will your profile be linked with the original post in any way.

Can You Switch Off Tagging Completely?

If your profile is currently set to automatically approve tags from other users, then this can be changed in the same manage page.

Following steps 1-3 as listed above, you will see a note towards the top of the page that reads:

“Tags are automatically approved. Update”

Click on ‘Update’.

This will take you to a page where you can edit the way that other users tag you in their Instagram posts and updates. Switching on the toggle to “Manually Approve Tags” will mean that every time another user tags you, you will have to approve the tag before it is displayed on your profile.

This manual tag approval may be a little more time consuming for you, but it will give you back control over exactly which posts your profile is linked with!