What Does Restrict Mean on Instagram?

Instagram introduced the Restrict feature to protect users from online bullying in 2019. Restricting people on Instagram gives you complete…

Instagram introduced the Restrict feature to protect users from online bullying in 2019. Restricting people on Instagram gives you complete control over the comments they make on your posts.

Nobody but the restricted user will be able to see the comments they make unless you decide to read them or make them visible to others.

Instagram’s Restrict feature is also wonderfully discrete. While blocked users can see that they’re blocked, people you restrict will never know about it.

This guide shows you what restricting someone on Instagram does and how to put the feature to use.

What Does Restrict Mean on Instagram?

Instagram users who face harassment and other unwanted interactions can use the Restrict feature to hide the offending content from their feeds.

What Happens When You Restrict Someone on Instagram?

When you restrict an Instagram account, the account holder can still view and comment on your Instagram posts.

Instagram automatically hides comments restricted people make from you and your other followers. Nobody can see them unless you decide you’re OK with that.

If you want to, you can:

  • Tap on a comment a user you restricted made to view it.
  • Approve the comment so everyone else can see it.

DMs from Instagram users you restricted automatically wind up in “Message Request.” You won’t be notified about them.

Are the People You Restrict on Instagram Notified?

No! Restricting people is more discreet than blocking them.

You can use the Restrict feature to free yourself from people who annoy you, but Instagram launched it to protect users from online bullying.

Making sure that the people users restrict never find out about it helps keep bullying victims safe.

How to Restrict Someone on Instagram Through Their Profile

You can restrict people on Instagram through their profiles on iPhone, Android, or your browser.

Open the Instagram app or website and follow these steps:

Step 1: Find Your Target’s Profile

You can find the profile of the person you want to restrict by browsing through your followers or using the search bar.

Step 2: Tap the ‘Three Dots’ Icon

Find the “three dots” icon on the top right corner of the person’s profile page.

What Does Restrict Mean on Instagram 8

Tap it.

Step 3: Choose ‘Restrict’

“Restrict,” which appears in pink text, is the first option. Select it.

What Does Restrict Mean on Instagram 9

Step 4: Confirm Your Choice

If you’re using the Restrict feature for the first time, Instagram will open a pop-up to explain what it does.

Click “Restrict Account” at the bottom of the message.

Good riddance!

How to Restrict Someone on Instagram Through Settings

It’s also possible to go through your settings to restrict someone:

Step 1: Tap Your Profile

Open your profile by tapping the profile icon in the bottom right. Tap the hamburger menu (three lines) in the top right corner.

Step 2: Select ‘Settings’

The “Settings” icon looks like a cog. Tap it.

Step 3: Go to ‘Privacy’ and Tap ‘Restricted Accounts’

This section will be empty if you haven’t restricted anyone yet.

What Does Restrict Mean on Instagram 1

Use the search bar to look for the account you want to restrict.

Step 4: Tap ‘Restrict’

Select the “Restrict” button next to the user’s name.

What Does Restrict Mean on Instagram 12

That’s all there is to it.

How to Restrict Someone on Instagram Through the Comments

If someone posts a nasty comment in your feed, you might decide to restrict them on the spot.

Step 1: Select the Comment

Android users need to tap and hold, while iPhone users can swipe left on the comment.

What Does Restrict Mean on Instagram 13

This action gives you three options.

Step 2: Tap the ‘Warning’ Icon

The warning icon in the middle of the comments menu looks like a shield with an exclamation point.

What Does Restrict Mean on Instagram 14

Tap it.

Step 3: Choose ‘Restrict’

“Restrict” is your second option.

What Does Restrict Mean on Instagram 15

How to See Restricted Users’ Comments on Instagram

Restricted users can still comment on your posts and may also DM you. You won’t have to see what a restricted user posts unless you want to. Here’s how.

How to View and Approve Restricted Users’ Comments on Your Posts

When someone you restricted on Instagram comments on one of your posts, you’ll only see that they did so.

Tap “See Comment” to view the message.

What Does Restrict Mean on Instagram 2

“Approve” the comment to post it to your feed. Everyone else will be able to see it if you pick this option.

What Does Restrict Mean on Instagram 3

Tap “Delete” to get rid of the comment.

What Does Restrict Mean on Instagram 4

Choose “Ignore” if you don’t want to do anything.

How to View DMs Restricted Users Send

Any DMs someone you restricted on Instagram sends you end up on the “Message Request” page. Instagram won’t notify you about these DMs, so if you want to see them, you’ll have to look.

  • Tap the paper airplane icon in the top right of your screen. Swipe left if you prefer.
  • Click on the DMs to view them.
    What Does Restrict Mean on Instagram 6

How to Stop Restricting Someone on Instagram

Do you want to undo your decision to restrict someone on Instagram? Taking this step restores the person’s access to your account. The person’s comments will be visible to you and everyone else again.

It’s easy to unrestrict someone:

Step 1: Find the Person’s Profile and Tap the ‘Three Dots’ Menu

What Does Restrict Mean on Instagram 10

This action opens the same menu you used to restrict the user.

Step 2: Tap ‘Unrestrict’

What Does Restrict Mean on Instagram 11

Confirm your choice.

That’s all!

Using Instagram’s Restrict Feature: A Final Word

Instagram originally introduced the option of restricting users to protect people suffering from online bullying or harassment. The Restrict feature is just as useful if you’re just fed up with someone.

Either way, restricted users will never know that you limited their interactions. They may suspect something’s up if you never reply to their comments, but that’s as far as it can go.

You have three ways to restrict someone on Instagram. It’s easiest to:

  • Go to the person’s profile
  • Tap the “three dots icon
  • Hit “Restrict”

Repeat the same steps to unrestrict the person.

Optimize your Instagram performance with Twicsy. Buy Instagram comments, likes, followers, and views.