What Happens If I Unsend a Message on Instagram?

A relatively new feature on Instagram, it’s now possible to unsend a message that you have previously send via a…

A relatively new feature on Instagram, it’s now possible to unsend a message that you have previously send via a DM (Direct Message).

Interestingly, this can be done both before the recipient has seen the message, and after they have seen it. You can even unsend a message that they have responded to – clearing your side of the conversation in minutes.

That’s because unsending a message on Instagram couldn’t be quicker or easier to do.

3 Steps to Unsending a Message on Instagram

  1. Open your DM inbox and navigate to the specific chat which features a message you want to unsend
  2. Open the chat and find the message that you want to delete
  3. Press down on, and hold, your finger on the message you want to unsend. Click on the red ‘Unsend’ text when the options appears

And voila – your message will disappear from the message stream!

What Happens When a Message Has Been Unsent?

It doesn’t matter whether a message has been read or not – once it is ‘Unsent’ by the user who originally sent it, that message disappears from the DM stream on both users’ devices.

Unlike on WhatsApp where the message is replaced with a “this message has been deleted” note, a message which is unsent disappears completely, leaving no trace that it ever existed.

So, unsending a message causes it to disappear instantly.

Finally, an Instagram tool that allows us to delete accidental (or drunk) messages in seconds!