What Happens When You Make a TikTok Video Private?

There are different levels of privacy available on TikTok, with users able to set their entire account to a private…

There are different levels of privacy available on TikTok, with users able to set their entire account to a private setting or experiment with the privacy settings on specific videos.

When you set your account to private, everything that you post is accessible only to those who follow you. In order to become a follower and see your content, users must request permission to follow you – giving you an extra layer of control over who is a part of your inner circle on the app.

When you make a video private, you again control who sees it – but only in relation to the one specific video. Here’s how to do it…

3 Steps to Make a Vide Private

  1. Create your video as normal on TikTok and proceed through the editing screens to final posting page
  2. Select ‘Who Can View’
  3. Choose between the public setting, ‘Only Me’, or ‘Friends’

Depending on what you choose, your video will post and be accessible to those who you selected.

The Benefits of Making a Video Private

When you set a video on TikTok to private, you can ensure that only those who you choose as viewers can access the video. For those that want to share updates with their family, for example, this is a good way to do so.

Similarly, this limits the number of comments that will be posted against or alongside a video, and also prevents users from being able to share your video.

Who Can See a Private Video?

In short, a private video can be seen by those who you choose to view it.

It’s as simple as that! So, if you’re worried about the privacy settings of your TikTok page and you want to keep your videos as personal as possible, accessing the private posting setting can help you to do so.