Does Instagram Notify When You Screen Record a Story?

The beauty of Instagram’s story feature is that all content shared via this channel is fleeting – existing for a…

Jump to section 👇

In this article

The beauty of Instagram’s story feature is that all content shared via this channel is fleeting – existing for a mere 24 hours before it disappears completely.

Of course, if you happen to see something incredibly interesting that you want to remember for future reference, an idea that you want to copy, or something you want to share and gossip about with a friend, then you might be compelled to screenshot or even screen record a story you see.

But there’s one detail that halts countless users in their tracks – and that’s the fear that their screenshot or screen record will be captured by Instagram and passed on to the original poster as a notification.

To put your mind at ease, we can confirm that Instagram does not currently support any feature that notifies the creator when their story content is recorded or screenshotted.

This means that as a viewer, you can screenshot any story and save it to your device, safe in the knowledge that they will never know!

Warning: Don’t screen record a vanishing DM!

While Instagram stories can be screen recorded and screenshotted without any fear of notification, the same is not true of vanishing DM content.

If you are sent a vanishing DM or a disappearing photo, any action to screenshot this content will be tracked and sent to the sender as a notification.

In short, stories posted to a wide group of followers can be safely captured in a record or screenshot – but private messages which are sent in vanishing mode, or as a disappearing photo, cannot.