How Long Can You Deactivate Instagram?

Deactivating Instagram means that your account will disappear for however long you want. Deactivation is different from a complete deletion…

Deactivating Instagram means that your account will disappear for however long you want.

Deactivation is different from a complete deletion of your account, because when you are ready to access the app again, you can simply reactivate and get it back exactly as it was. This is different to deleting your account completely, which would mean starting again from scratch.

In terms of the length of time you can leave your Instagram account deactivated, the limit does not exist. You can leave your account deactivated for as long as you want, logging back in when you’re ready to resume action.

What Happens When Your Account is Deactivated?

If you deactivate your Instagram account, it will no longer be visible to your followers, and users will no longer be able to search for and find your profile.

Any users that have existing DM chats with you will find that your profile picture is replaced with a blank grey outline, and your username is replaced with ‘Instagram User’.

How to Deactivate Your Instagram Account

With all that in mind, if you feel like you need a bit of an Instagram detox then here’s how to do it.

  1. Head to your profile page on the Instagram app
  2. Select the menu button in the top right hand corner of the screen, and click on ‘Settings and Privacy’
  3. Click on ‘Accounts Centre’ at the top of the list, then ‘Personal Details’
  4. Select ‘Account Ownership and Control’. This will take you to a screen which lets you control what happens to your account when you die and gives you the choice to either temporarily deactivate or permanently delete your account.

If you want to be able to reinstate your Instagram account as it is in the future, it’s important to make sure you continue with a deactivation rather than a blanket deletion of your account.

  1. Select ‘Deactivation or Deletion’ and click on the account that you want to deactivate (as a result of Instagram being owned by Meta, and most accounts being linked to a Facebook profile, you can manage the future of both accounts via this menu option).
  2. Make sure that ‘Deactivate account’ is selected, and proceed with inputting your password by way of confirmation
  3. You will be asked why you want to deactivate. The easiest option is to say you simply want a break from the app, though you can also report other concerns and issues at this stage if you need to.
  4. Confirm the process by selecting the final ‘Deactivate Account’ button

Once deactivated, your account will remain off grid for as long as you want.

NOTE: Accounts can only be deactivated once a week.

Suffice to say, it couldn’t be easier to have a short Instagram break and truly switch off from the demands of social media – whether for a few short days or a prolonged period of weeks or months!