How to Archive Highlights on Instagram

The beauty of the Instagram story feature is that while stories are only visible on the platform and on your…

The beauty of the Instagram story feature is that while stories are only visible on the platform and on your profile to followers for 24 hours, they are all then sent to an archive folder which you can access at any time.

This means, for one thing, that those creating story highlights don’t need to worry about doing so as soon as they post a story – instead waiting and unlocking a particular share from an archived story at some point in the future.

But how do you archive a highlight on your Instagram so that it no longer appears in the story highlight but is not lost for good?

Easy!

3 Steps To Archive a Story Highlight

  1. From your profile on Instagram, click on the highlight and navigate your way through until you find the story you want to remove.
  2. Click on the three dots in the bottom right hand corner of the screen
  3. Select ‘Remove from Highlight’

This may sound (and look) final as a result of the word ‘Remove’ and the red text, but any story which is deleted from your highlight reel can still be found in your story archive at any time. So, it is not lost for good.

Deleting a Whole Highlight

If you want to delete an entire highlight, then press and hold on the highlight button on your profile page.

A series of options will appear, including ‘Convert to Reel’ and ‘Edit Highlight’.

You can also ‘Delete Highlight’ which will remove the entire highlight from your profile. Again, this will not cause you to lose any of the individual stories as these remain stored in your archive.

To cut a long story short, you can adjust your highlights to your hearts content, safe in the knowledge that anything you delete from your highlight will not be removed from the archive (unless you head into your archive and remove it!)