How to Delete a Group Chat on Instagram

Groups chats are a great way of communicating with friends, a group of followers, or a select few networking peers…

Jump to section 👇

In this article

Groups chats are a great way of communicating with friends, a group of followers, or a select few networking peers in a single DM stream.

Whether a long term arrangement or a group chat that’s designed to help organise or facilitate a specific event or occasion, group chats allow participants to send messages, images, reels, GIFs, and more via the app.

In this article, we’re talking to those of you who set up a group chat for a specific reason and are now looking to delete the chat.

3 Steps to Delete a Group Chat

  1. Navigate to your DM’s by clicking on the paper airplane inbox icon on your home screen
  2. Press and hold on the group chat name in your inbox
  3. Select ‘Delete’ from the pop up list of options

Deleting the group chat will erase the message history from your device – however, it’s important to note that deleting the chat on your device will not remove it from everybody’s inbox.

Rather, each individual member will have to perform the same action in order for the chat to be deleted on everyone’s Instagram. This means that even after you delete the group chat, conversation can continue between the other members.