How to Delete Messages on Instagram From Both Sides

Instagram’s DM inbox is one of the best ways to connect and interact with your followers and friends. The ideal…

Instagram’s DM inbox is one of the best ways to connect and interact with your followers and friends.

The ideal messaging platform for sending messages, pictures, videos, reels, GIFs, and links, your Instagram inbox is almost certainly a treasure trove of fun and engaging content sent to and from your friends.

But what happens when some messages are exchanged which need deleting?

Here’s how to delete messages on Instagram from both sides of the exchange.

Deleting Messages That You Have Sent

Deleting a message that you have sent is easy. All you need to do is head to the message stream and identify a message that you want to delete.

Press and hold on that message. Provided it is a message that you have sent, you will be presented with an option to ‘Unsend’ the message. Click on the ‘Unsend’ button – the message will disappear.

Deleting Messages That You Have Received

This is a little bit more difficult, as there is no way of instantly deleting a message that you’ve been sent.

Only the sender can delete a message with ease, following the process mentioned above. So, if you want to delete a message that you have been sent, you will need to go through one of the following processes.

  1. Ask the user to delete the message that they sent. Depending on their reason for sending, they may be happy to delete the message.
  2. Report the message and hope that Instagram takes heed and removes it. This may create some other problems for the sender, so approach this particular process with caution.
  3. Delete the entire message stream with the sender and start from scratch. This will not affect the message display on their end, but it will remove all trace of this and other messages from your device.

We hope that these three steps, and the above process on deleting your own messages, helps to clean up your inbox and keep Instagram a safe and enjoyable place to scroll and connect.