How to Delete a Reel On Instagram

Sometimes you will create a reel or share a post and watch it go viral, flooded with likes and comments…

Jump to section 👇

In this article

Sometimes you will create a reel or share a post and watch it go viral, flooded with likes and comments and countless views.

Other times, you will share a reel that doesn’t quite hit the mark, or that contains some discrepancies that you and your followers can’t quite overlook.

If you share a reel that, later down the line, you want to delete – perhaps to edit before reposting and sharing again – you’ll be pleased to hear that deleting a reel is incredibly easy.

Here’s how to do it.

3 Steps to Delete a Reel

  1. Head to your profile page and open the reel that you want to delete
  2. Click on the three dots (these will be located in the top right hand corner of the preview grid screen, or the bottom right hand corner of the full screen view)
  3. Click on ‘Delete’ in red font at the bottom of the list

You will be asked to confirm that you want to delete the reel. If you say yes, then your reel and all of its engagement will be wiped from your Instagram account.

NOTE: If you delete your reel, you will have to start from scratch if you want to repost it. As such, if you plan on editing and reposting the reel, consider downloading it first so that you don’t lose the content completely and have to start again from the beginning.

We hope this helps! Not every reel will be a winner, and not every reel will lead to hundreds or thousands of likes and comments – so don’t be afraid to delete and try again if something doesn’t work! Success on Instagram is as much about trial and error as it is about strategy!