BlogFacebook Marketing

How to Delete a Story on Facebook

A story on Facebook works in much the same way as a story on Instagram. In fact, because both platforms…

1 min read

Nikka GurmaniTwicsy

Quick summary

  • A story on Facebook works in much the same way as a story on Instagram.
  • In fact, because both platforms are owned and operated by Meta, users can often share their story between the two platforms with the click of a button.
  • Stories offer the benefit of a quick insight into the user’s day – existing for 24 hours before disappearing completely.
Facebook Marketing

A story on Facebook works in much the same way as a story on Instagram. In fact, because both platforms are owned and operated by Meta, users can often share their story between the two platforms with the click of a button.

Stories offer the benefit of a quick insight into the user’s day – existing for 24 hours before disappearing completely.

But what happens if you post a story and want to delete it before the 24 hours is up?

In this article, we’re sharing the steps you need to follow to delete a story you’ve posted while it’s still live on Facebook.

3 Steps to Delete a Story

Once a story has been posted on your Facebook page, it’s available for all your friends to see until it disappears. Users can react to stories on Facebook and can also leave comments, making them a great way to encourage engagement and start conversations.

But if you want to delete a story, the actions are simple.

  1. Open the story that you’ve posted by tapping on your own story cover from the Facebook home screen
  2. Click on the three dots, located in the top right hand corner of the screen
  3. Select ‘Delete photo’ and confirm the action

This will remove the story and any interactions you received from it, from your profile.

Can You Delete Someone Else’s Story on Facebook?

While it is not possible to permanently delete a story posted by another user, you can mute other stories so that you don’t have to see them on your newsfeed.

To do this, open the story of the user who you want to remove, and follow the same action as above – clicking on the three dots in the top right hand corner of the story screen.

Select the option to ‘Mute’ the user.

It’s as simple as that!

Enjoying this article?

Share it with the world!

Article written byNikka Gurmani

Nikka Gurmani is an award-winning Pakistani-American tech journalist and strategic consultant.

All Facebook Marketing

Grow with Twicsy

Followers, likes and views for Instagram, TikTok and YouTube, delivered to your account with support around the clock.

See all services

Buy Instagram and TikTokFollowers & More Delivered in Minutes!

Fast and secure ordering