Instagram Marketing

How to Delete Your TikTok Account

Have you decided that it’s time to get rid of your TikTok account? TikTok allows users to disable their accounts temporarily, but if that’s not good enough, you can delete your TikTok account permanently. If you go this route, you’ll want to back your favorite videos up in advance. This no-nonsense guide walks you through…

Have you decided that it’s time to get rid of your TikTok account?

TikTok allows users to disable their accounts temporarily, but if that’s not good enough, you can delete your TikTok account permanently. If you go this route, you’ll want to back your favorite videos up in advance.

This no-nonsense guide walks you through your options.

How to Delete Your TikTok Account Through the Mobile App

To delete your TikTok account through the mobile app, just follow these easy steps:

Step 1: Log In to the TikTok App and Tap the “Profile” Button

The “Profile” button is located in the bottom right corner of the TikTok app.

Tapping it opens the hamburger menu in the top right corner. This menu looks like three horizontal lines.

Select “Settings and privacy.”

Step 2: Choose “Manage Account” From the Options

Go to the “Manage account” menu and find the “Delete account” option at the bottom. Click it.

Step 3: Confirm Your Decision to Delete Your Account

The app will prompt you to “Continue” to confirm your choice to delete your TikTok account.

Step 4: Uninstall the TikTok App

You can now remove the TikTok app from your phone.

How to Delete Your TikTok Account in a Web Browser

Deleting your TikTok account using a web browser is a little different, but no harder.

Here’s how:

Step 1: Log In on Your Web Browser

Open a web browser and log into your TikTok account.

Step 2: Go to “Settings”

You can find “Settings” by clicking on your TikTok profile picture in the top right corner. Navigate to “Manage account” and find “Account control.”

Step 3: Click “Delete account”

The “Delete account” option is the only option in “Account control.” Click “Delete,” which appears in pink text to the right of “Delete account.”

Confirm your decision.

What If You Change Your Mind About Deleting Your TikTok Account?

Your TikTok account will permanently be deleted exactly 30 days after you decide to hit the “Delete” button. It will be deactivated while you wait.

If you change your mind within 30 days, you can still reactivate your TikTok account. This is as easy as signing into the account and confirming that you want to keep using it by clicking “Reactivate.”

How to Back Up Your Data Before You Delete Your TikTok Account

Deleting your TikTok account means deleting all of the videos that you uploaded, as well as your other data. If you don’t want to lose your favorite videos, you will need to save them onto your computer.

Backing your TikTok data, which includes a record of your activity, up is easy:

Step 1: Log In on a Web Browser

You’ll want to save your TikTok data to a computer, where you’ll have more space. Open your web browser and log in to TikTok.

Step 2: Go to “Settings”

Click on your TikTok profile picture, located in the top right, and select “Settings.” Head over to the “Privacy” section.

Step 3: Click on “Data”

“Data” is the third and final option in TikTok’s “Manage account” menu.

Click on “Download your data.”

Step 4: Select Your Preferred File Format

After clicking “Download your data,” you can choose whether to download your TikTok data in the TXT or JSON file formats when you click on “Select file format.”

TXT files are plain text documents that users can read. They open in Notepad for Windows users, TextEdit for MacOS users, and Pluma for Linux users.

JSON files can be read by computer applications.

If you are not sure which file format is best, choose both.

Step 5: Wait for TikTok to Compile Your Data

This process can take a few days. Once your data becomes available, you will be able to download it from the “Download data” section as a ZIP file.

What to Do if TikTok Won’t Let You Delete Your Account

Add and verify your phone number or email address if TikTok won’t let you delete your account.

If you’ve lost your password, you’ll need to recover access to your account first.

To reset your password, open the TikTok app, tap “Log in,” and click “Forgot password.”

You can reset your password with your phone number, email address, or another social media account you used to log into TikTok.

A Final Word

TikTok makes it easy to delete your account. After following along with the steps, you’ll only have to wait 30 days for your TikTok to be gone forever. Because all your data and videos will be gone, you’ll want to consider saving your videos and backing your data up first.