How to Remove Business Account On Instagram

Business accounts bring a range of extra benefits to your Instagram experience, granting you access to data and insights which…

Business accounts bring a range of extra benefits to your Instagram experience, granting you access to data and insights which link to your growth, your community engagement, how well your page converts, and even how broad your reach is.

But alongside those benefits, business accounts have their fair share of more complex challenges – which can leave you wanting to remove the account altogether.

Now, that’s not to say you have to completely delete your business account. You might decide to convert the account back into a personal account for a more streamlined experience – it really is up to you. In this article, we’re covering both avenues so that you can work out exactly which option is best for you.

Removing An Additional Business Profile From Your Account

If you’ve got a business account on Instagram that you no longer use, or that you want to close in order to start a new venture, then you need to follow these steps…

  1. Head to your business profile page and click on the menu button in the top right hand corner, indicated by the three horizontal lines
  2. Click on ‘Settings and Privacy’
  3. Click on ‘Accounts Centre’ and then ‘Personal Details’
  4. Select the option to adjust ‘Account Ownership and Control’

This is where you have a choice between deactivating or deleting your account completely.

Instagram offers these two solutions, because the app knows that sometimes users want and need a break from Instagram, but without deleting their profile completely and starting again. Deactivating an account removes it from the app and prevents other users from messaging or engaging with the profile, while making it possible to reinstate that account at a later date. Deleting an account is permanent.

Depending on your motivation and what you want to do with your account, this is where you can choose to deactivate or delete – and follow the final steps to confirm your decision.

Now, if all of this is a bit too final for you, and you will want to access your community but without all the data and stats that come with a business account, then you might decide to opt for a personal account instead…

Converting a Business Account to a Personal Account

If you have a business account but want to strip away the complex data and streamline your profile, then you might decide to convert your account back to a personal one.

This grants you the same access to your community but with fewer business-specific tools, instead allowing you to post and engage as a regular user on the app.

To convert a business account back to a personal account, follow these steps…

  1. Head to your business profile page and click on the menu button in the top right hand corner
  2. Select ‘Settings and Privacy’
  3. Scroll down to ‘Creator Tools and Controls’
  4. Towards the bottom of the Creator menu, you will see an item called ‘Switch Account Type’. Click on this
  5. Select ‘Switch to Personal Account’

And voila! A quick confirmation will transform your account into a personal one, without losing any of your posts, comments, or messages.

Most users who do this will find that their account is much easier to manage once it’s a personal account, with fewer inboxes and fewer tools standing between them and their followers.