How to Unlink Instagram Accounts

When Instagram accounts are linked, they access and use information from the same accounts centre. This essentially means that they…

Jump to section 👇

In this article

When Instagram accounts are linked, they access and use information from the same accounts centre.

This essentially means that they are owned and operated by the same user, with the same password and login information being used to connect both accounts.

Unlinking an Instagram account allows you to operate it independently. This could be for added security, or it could be to grant another user access to one specific account without opening up your entire range of Meta accounts to that user or contact.

So, how do you do it?

With the Instagram accounts centre, it couldn’t be easier!

  1. On your profile page, click on the three horizontal lines in the top right hand corner. This is the menu
  2. Select ‘Settings’ from the menu list then ‘See More in Accounts Centre’ at the top of your list of options
  3. Scroll down to the bottom of the list, which says ‘Accounts’
  4. This opens up a list of all the accounts that are linked to your Instagram login.
  5. Click remove on any accounts that you want to unlink from the login

It’s important to note that this process does not remove or deactivate the account from Instagram. Instead, it simply removes that account from the connected experience which allows seamless connectivity between accounts.

If you want to still benefit from easy access but without the direct link between accounts, you can add an account to your Instagram app but give it a unique password for a separate login experience.

We hope this helps you to find the balance between convenience and independence between your different accounts on Instagram!