What Happens When You Block Someone on Instagram?

Blocking someone on Instagram is unarguably the most effective way to prevent them from reaching out and contacting you on…

Blocking someone on Instagram is unarguably the most effective way to prevent them from reaching out and contacting you on the app.

Beyond that, it also prevents them from being able to view your profile and bio, as well as any posts and stories that that share.

In this article, we’re providing you with a beginners guide to blocking someone – including what happens from their perspective, whether they are aware of being blocked, and how to do it.

What Does a Blocked User See When They Visit Your Profile?

If a user whom you have blocked searches for your profile, they will not be able to see your posts or any updates that you share to your profile. They won’t even be able to search for your profile, meaning that when they search your handle or username, they will be presented with no results – the same experience as if you had completely deactivated your account.

The only thing that they may be able to see is your profile picture. Even then, this is only the case if you have an existing Direct Message communication with them and so your profile and image is linked in their inbox.

In short, if a user has been blocked, the only thing they will see when they search for the profile is ‘No Posts Yet and a plain white screen.

Does a User Know If They Have Been Blocked?

While there is no notification that a user has been blocked, the chances are that if they suddenly cannot view your profile or contact you via the app, they will know that something has happened.

The availability of information around exactly what happens when you block another user, makes it highly likely that they will assume that they have been blocked as a result of their sudden limited experience.

Can You See The Profile of a User That You Have Blocked?

Yes – although your experience will also be limited.

When you block another user, you can only see their profile image, the number of posts they have shared, and how many followers / following they have. In order to restore the normal view and be able to see their posts, you will need to unblock them.

What Happens To Their Old Comments on Your Posts?

If you have comments and likes on your posts from users whom you subsequently block, all of these interactions will disappear.

On the other hand, it is important to note that if you both follow the same public pages and you choose to comment on or like a public post, then your interaction will appear on the blocked users’ feed. Not only does this mean they can see some of your activity, but it gives them proof that they have been blocked (as opposed to your account having been removed).

How to Block / Unblock a User

Ready to block another user? Maybe all of the aforementioned information has inspired you to unblock a user that you’ve had blocked for a while?

Either way, the action itself is easy and can be done directly on their profile page.

If the user is someone who you have blocked in the past, to unblock simply click on the blue ‘Unblock’ button above their profile grid.

To block a user, head to their profile and select the three horizontal dots in the top right hand corner. Click ‘Block’ in the pop up box that appears. This will provide you with a little more information about what it means to block another user, asking you to confirm the action.

NOTE: You can also access a Restrict function if blocking someone feels like too much, or you can take it to the next level and both Block and Report the user for indecent or inappropriate activity.

Taking Steps to Protect Your Instagram Experience

Making sure that Instagram is safe and enjoyable to use is of the upmost importance, which is why functions like the Block and Restrict tools exist.

Have you used Block before, or discovered that you have been blocked by another user?